Murray County MuseumMurray County Museum
Home Page | Planned Exhibits | Research Support | Want to Help? | Why a Museum in Cyberspace? | Updates
Carter's QuarterBarbed WireCherokee Removal FTCivil WarCoulter Dolls
County OfficialsDeath CertificatesEarly ChenilleEarly DoctorsEarly Newspapers
Fort MountainFree Negroes 1870GatewaysHistorical County LinesHistorical Markers
History of MurrayKorean WarLandmarks LostListsMemoirs of a Slave
Methodist ChurchMurray ArtistsMurray CemeteriesMurray CharactersMurray Census 1834
Murray FamiliesMurray Heritage BookMurray High SchoolMurray History 1911Murray Memories
Murray Post OfficesMurray QuiltsMurray SchoolsOld News StoriesPhotographs
Planned DisplaysPoemsPrized PossessionsRoad to Dalton 1950Rolling Stores
Roseville PotterySchool ValentinesStained GlassTime CapsulesVann House
Vann SlavesVeterans MemorialVietnam WarVintage ADsWar Dead
Wood VasesWorld War IWorld War IIWright Hotel 
 Murray County Museum  
CHEROKEE REMOVAL FORTS

The Cherokees were forcibly removed from Georgia in the 1830s. The U. S. Army prepared military installations they deemed necessary for the removal operation, which eventually became known as "The Trail of Tears."

Titled: Cherokee Removal: Forts Along the Georgia Trail of Tears, this report contains a wealth of information, much of it new, in easy-to-read format.

The report, authored by Sarah H. Hill, was published March 2005, under a joint partnership between The National Park Service and the Georgia Department of Natural Resources/Historic Preservation Division. It can be viewed by clicking the link below. Visitors can print any or all of the report.

Get Adobe Reader

Open Cherokee Removal: Forts Along the Georgia Trail of Tears Adobe FileCherokee Removal: Forts Along the Georgia Trail of Tears 2MB PDF File

  Murray County Museum 
Copyrighted 2005 - 2017 Murray County Museum - All Rights Reserved